The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good people to do nothing.

We can all learn how to be a good person by listening to the teachings of Jesus Christ and to other Spiritual Leaders such as the Buddhists.

Let’s see what they teach us and see if we can learn.

The two greatest commandments given us by Jesus are:

  1. Jesus said unto him, “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment.
  2. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.”

Jesus also taught us the Beatitudes Mathew 5:3-12 – the way that we should live our lives. Each is a building block to the next –

  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  2. Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.
  3. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.
  4. Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.
  5. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.
  6. Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.
  8. Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  9. Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.
  10. Rejoice and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.

I’d also like to point out that these truths are universal – you don’t have to be a Christian to follow them, listen to the Four Truths of Buddhism – and you don’t have to be a Buddhist to follow them.

  1. Human life is full of suffering
  2. Suffering and sorrow are caused by people’s greedy desire for power, pleasure and possessions
  3. Suffering and sorrow will end when people overcome their greed
  4. People can overcome their greed and uncontrolled desires by adopting the Middle Way or Eightfold Path

Noble Eightfold Path:

  1. Right View – A true understanding of how reality and suffering are intertwined.
  2. Right Resolve – The aspiration to act with correct intention, doing no harm.
  3. Right Speech- Abstaining from lying, and divisive or abusive speech.
  4. Right Action – Acting in ways that do not cause harm, such as not taking life, not stealing, and not engaging in sexual misconduct.
  5. Right Livelihood – Making an ethically sound living, being honest in business dealings.
  6. Right Effort – Endeavoring to give rise to skillful thoughts, words, and deeds and renouncing unskillful ones.
  7. Right Mindfulness – Being mindful of one’s body, feelings, mind, and mental qualities.
  8. Right Concentration – Practicing skillful meditation informed by all of the preceding seven aspects.